Category: Awards

Three FBA authors on Edward Stanford Travel Writing shortlists

Congratulations to Nick Jubber, Dan Richards, and Chloe Daykin, making the shortlists for Travel Book of the Year, Adventure Travel Book of the Year, and Children’s Travel Book of the Year, respectively. Winners in each category will be presented with a hand-made globe, with the winner of the Travel Book of the Year receiving an… Read more »

Three FBA Titles Shortlisted For Costa Book Awards 2019

After last night’s announcements Felicity Bryan Associates is honoured and delighted to see three of our authors’ wonderful books recognised by the Costa judges, meaning there is an FBA title in three of the four eligible categories: Jonathan Coe’s Middle England in the Novel grouping, Lindsey Hilsum’s In Extremis: The Life of War Reporter Marie… Read more »

Peter Frankopan wins Calliope Prize for Migration Research

Unanimously chosen by a panel of five judges, Peter Frankopan has won the €20,000 Calliope Prize, awarded biennially by the German Emigration Centre for practical research into migration. The jury commented that “Frankopan’s research on global history, embodied in his work The Silk Roads, breaks with the Eurocentric perspective and explores new perspectives on historical… Read more »

Seven FBA titles nominated for CILIP Carnegie/Greenaway Medals 2020

Nominations were released today for the prestigious Carnegie and Greenaway medals, awarded to books written in English for children and young people that create an outstanding reading experiences through writing and illustration, respectively.  And our authors made a very good showing indeed. FBA’ers nominated for the Carnegie Medal were… Linda Newbery, with The Key to… Read more »

Cheltenham Literature Festival

The world’s oldest literature festival turns 70 this year, and we must say, it’s looking sprightlier than ever!  As always, an array of our authors are set to appear, speaking on subjects that range from the history of philosophy to the future of feminism, from family secrets to the nature of reading itself. Mon 7… Read more »

Graham Caveney longlisted for Portico Prize

Congratulations to Graham Caveney, who has been longlisted for the Portico Prize for Literature with his searingly evocative memoir The Boy with Perpetual Nervousness.  Once described as ‘the Booker of the North’, The Portico Prize awards £10,000 to the book that best evokes the spirit of the North of England, and is the UK’s only… Read more »

Professor Roderick Beaton receives Order of Honour from President of Greece

Renowned philhellene and scholar Roderick Beaton has been presented with the Greek Order of Honour this week for his “emblematic contribution” to Hellenic literature and culture, in a special ceremony at the Presidential Mansion in Athens. Professor of Modern Greek and Byzantine History at King’s College, London, Roderick is one of the English-speaking world’s leading… Read more »

Sue Prideaux on Shortlist for Non-Fiction Crown

I Am Dynamite! – Sue Prideaux‘s stunning new life of the German philosopher, Friedrich Nietzsche – has been shortlisted for the Historical Writers Association 2019 Non-Fiction Crown, alongside Helen Rappaport and Ben MacIntyre, among others.  The winner will be announced at an award ceremony on the 6th of November.

Elleke Boehmer wins Olive Schreiner Award for Prose

Elleke Boehmer has won the Olive Schreiner Award for Prose, for her “enthralling” (JM Coetzee) historical novel THE SHOUTING IN THE DARK. She will collect her prize, awarded by the English Academy of Southern Africa, in Johannesburg next week, before flying on to Melbourne to receive her commendation from the Australian Book Review for her… Read more »