Damon Galgut

Damon is an award-winning novelist, short story writer and playwright. His novels include: A Sinless Season, Small Circle of Beings, The Beautiful Screaming of Pigs, The Quarry, The Good Doctor (short-listed for the 2003 Man Booker Prize and the 2004 Commonwealth Writer’s prize – winner Africa Region), The Imposter (winner of the 2008 University of Johannesburg English Literary Award, short-listed for the 2009 Commonwealth Writers’ Prize, M-Net literary award and Sunday Times Fiction Prize (South Africa), In A Strange Room (short-listed for the 2010 Man Booker Prize, the 2011 Ondaatje Prize and the 2011 M-Net Literary Award), Arctic Summer (winner of the Tate Literature Live Award for Book of the Year 2014, short-listed for the Walter Scott Historical Fiction Prize 2015 and the Sunday Times Barry Ronge Fiction Prize, long-listed for the 2015 Folio Prize).

Damon is an Honorary Foreign Member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters. His new novel The Promise will be published by Chatto in April 2021.